

To: Chair and Members of the

Performance Scrutiny Committee

Date: 31 August 2011

Direct Dial: 01824 712589

e-mail: dcc_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the PERFORMANCE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE on THURSDAY, 8 SEPTEMBER 2011 AT 9.30 A.M. in CONFERENCE ROOM 1A, **COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.**

Yours sincerely

J. Kennedy Acting Head of Corporate Governance

AGENDA

Part 1: The press and public are invited to attend this part of the meeting

1. **APOLOGIES**

2. **DECLARATION OF INTERESTS**

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3. URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4. MINUTES

To confirm the minutes of the Performance Scrutiny Committee meeting held on the 21 July 2011 (copy attached).

5. ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE ESTYN INSPECTION OF SPRING 2012

To consider a report by the Head of Modernising Education and the Head of School Improvement & Inclusion to assist the Committee in scrutinising the preparations and discuss the arrangements for the Inspection (copy attached).

6. EVALUATION OF THE IMPACT OF THE USE OF THE ADDITIONAL RESOURCES GIVEN TO SCHOOLS IN 2010 / 2011

To consider a verbal report by the Head of School Improvement and Inclusion and consider whether the anticipated outcomes from the projects and activities in schools that were awarded additional funding were achieved.

7. SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Co-ordinator and the Democratic Services Manager (copy enclosed) in order for the Committee to review its forward work programme, and to update Members on relevant issues.

Part 2: No items

Membership

Councillor P.C. Duffy Councillor C. Hughes

Councillor M. Eckersley Councillor T.R. Hughes

Councillor G.C. Evans Councillor H.Ll. Jones (Vice Chair)

Councillor R.L. Feeley (Chair) Councillor D. Lee

Councillor G.A. Green Councillor L.M. Morris

Councillor I.A. Gunning

Voting Co-opted Members for Education (agenda items 5 and 6 only)

Ms C. Burgess Dr. D Marjoram

Mrs G. Greenland Mr J. Saxon

Ms D. Houghton

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils